watch. sidewalk moving picture festival.

When you live in Birmingham, AL sometimes you have to get really creative with your weekend plans.  This weekend is not one of those weekends. This weekend the city gets creative for us. And, this weekend, the city streets are super cool (or at least they are filled with people who seem super cool from a distance) because Birmingham is home to the annual Sidewalk Moving Picture Festival.

sidewalk

I have known about Sidewalk longer than I have been going to Sidewalk. And even now, I must confess that I rarely purchase the full weekend pass, but I do usually find a couple of films that sound interesting and spend a few hours amid the festival goers, mainly filmmakers. I really enjoy the atmosphere even as an outsider to the film community.

Last time I attended I saw a documentary, Awake, My Soul, about Sacred Harp (shaped note) singing that took me back to my stories from my grandparents and my folklore class field trip to a “singin’”. It really captured the sound of an acquired taste and story of a rich tradition.

I haven’t made my final decisions on what I’ll attend, but here are a few selections that feature friends and friends of friends. I wish them congratulations and all the best this weekend!

God’s Architects
a documentary feature by Zack Godshall
McWane Science Center
Saturday, Sept 26th @ 5pm

Love at the Grocery Store
a narrative short directed by Sam McDavid
Alabama Power
Saturday, Sept 26th @ 9pm

Between You and Me
a narrative short by Micah Stansell
playing with General Orders No. 9
Alabama Theatre
Sunday, Sept 27th @ 11am 

It’s too late to buy tickets online, but even walk up prices are incredibly reasonable considering the opportunity and benefits the festival presents for the individual, the filmmaker, and the city.

For more details on tickets, click here.

Opening Night Tickets
Opening Night Film + After Party:
$25 for students and Sidewalk Members
$30 for the general public
Opening Night Film ONLY:
$13 for students and Sidewalk members
$15 for the general public
After Party ONLY:
$15 for students and Sidewalk members
$20 for the general public

Weekend Pass (Saturday and Sunday)
$30 for students and Sidewalk Members
$35 for the general public

On Site ONLY (no discounts):
$8 for one ticket
$20 for a pack of three

 Closing Night Tickets for Alabama Moon
$10 for students and Sidewalk Members
$12 for the general public

I’d appreciate your recommendations before or after this weekend! So please comment and share.

Leave a Reply

