give. a shoebox.

On my way home from work yesterday I passed signs of the times. As surely as the pumpkins and mums are disappearing, the evergreen garlands and bows and lights are quietly making their way onto streetlights and awnings. They’ll be lit soon. The Boy Scout Christmas Tree Sale trailers that arrived yesterday in view of my front door sit in anticipation of the buzz only about a week away. And while I have had ample warning as I have been choreographing for Christmas programs for weeks now, it still takes me a little by surprise – but in a really great way!

There is no denying Christmastime is here. Well, I should really say that it’s just around the corner from Thanksgiving. Even its scent is wafting this way.

To whet my appetite for the coming season and give a gift a little early, I made the easy and fun trek to the store to shop for Operation Christmas Child. Since 1993, this campaign by Samaritan’s Purse has delivered tens of millions of shoebox gifts to children around the world. Let this video inspire you and then follow the instructions for shopping, donating, and following your gift!

For $14 (and some change) I filled my shoebox last night for 5-9 year old girl. Here is what I was able to include:

  • Coloring Book
  • Crayons
  • Pencils
  • Bouncy Balls
  • Playdoh
  • Addition Flashcards (Strawberry Shortcake, of course!)
  • Hand Towel
  • Toothbrush & Toothpaste
  • Hairbands
  • Socks
  • Jelly Beans and Lollipops
  • Shoulder bag/Purse

I’m off to write my letter to the child that will receive the box and make my donation online; I’m hoping to follow my box this time…What will you put in yours?

Be sure to drop your box off at a collection point near you by 
MONDAY, NOVEMBER 23rd!
Find a drop off location near you!

Leave a Reply

