play. with words on wordle.

I blame busyness and sickness for my lack of recent posts. So while I regain my footing and restart my creativity, visit this site for fun.

Wordle.com allows you to enter any text or url with an RSS feed to create a word cloud. I realize word clouds aren’t exctly new and some of these look like t-shirts from years gone by, but the accessibility and ease of this tool makes for endless possibilites and hours of procrastination – I mean, fun. I can see these now posted on the walls of classsrooms and dorm rooms, as skins on laptops and flip phones, and so much more.

Here are 3 of the word clouds I came up with:

For this blog:

For the Gettysburg Address:

For The Avett Brothers‘ “I and Love and You”:

So pick your favorite inside jokes, lyrics, poems, speeches, subjects, verbs, nouns, adverbs – anything, and create a not-so-dreary cloud with Wordle. (Thanks Matt for sharing this one!)
A quick disclaimer: there are people out there who are not using Wordle.net for good. So, if you visit the public gallery, enter at your own risk.

Leave a Reply

