listen. musical duos.

There have been many great musical duos over the years that have captured our listening ears. I was raised on a few like Simon & Garfunkel and The Carpenters, but many more come to mind: Hall & Oates, Sonny & Cher, Ike and Tina, The Righteous Brothers, The Everly Brothers, The Judds, The Indigo Girls, The Captain and Tennille, Kris Kross. Okay, okay, I’ll stop. (And yes, a few of those aren’t so great, but they are funny to think about.)  

Returning to my point, I believe the great duos have some new company.

She & Him

The Swell Season

The Civil Wars
The Civil Wars | Joy Williams & John Paul White (The Civil Wars) - photo taken on Dec 12th, 2009 in Cincy, OH by Jon Willis - http://jonbob.com | The Civil Wars | @JoyWilliams,John Paul White

I absolutely love these three relatively new duos, all male-female vocal partnerships whose melodies, harmonies, lyrics, and even banter have me hooked. I consider myself lucky to live in a city where all will perform live between now and the end of July, and I hope you find yourself so fortunate as well.

Whether you are able to catch them live, watch videos online, create a Pandora station, or go the classic route and listen to them via stereo system (dare I say record player), find your way to these voices. You may recognize members of these duos from other projects or bands, but don’t miss these very special blends before moving on. Somehow, the sounds of all three complement the scent of honeysuckle, the taste of sweet tea, and the breeze on a front porch just as well as they would a walk down a busy city street on a misty day.

I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

4 responses to “listen. musical duos.

  • Ashley Baker

    How could you forget The Weepies! Only the greatest duo behind Simon and Garfunkel!

    • todobyamy

      I do enjoy The Weepies from time to time. Alas, they are not coming to town soon as far as I know, so they didn’t make the cut. I hear the Scarlett Johansson and Pete Yorn project is pretty good too.

  • Emily

    I just bought the ScarJo and Pete Yorn album on itunes for $7.99! It ain’t too shabby. I am still undecided if I want ScarJo to go down in musical history though. I think between her acting career and Ryan Reynolds she has enough already.

    Just sayin

  • todobyamy

    I’d like to thank The Civil Wars and Swell Season for some great cover songs (since we already know I love their originals).

    The Civil Wars covered “I Want You Back” (Jackson 5), “Billie Jean” (Michael Jackson), and “Talking in Your Sleep” (The Romantics).

    Swell Season covered “Into the Mystic” (Van Morrison), “Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain” (Roy Acuff and later Willie Nelson), and “Drive All Night” (Bruce Springsteen)

    Made me wish I had recorded them all!

    UPDATE: She & Him put on a great show despite the tough venue. To be fair, here are the songs they chose to cover – “You Really Gotta Hold on Me” by The Miracles, The Beatles, and as recorded on She & Him Volume One; “Wouldn’t It Be Nice” by the Beach Boys (in my mind I dedicated this to Blake and Emily!); and the 1940s hit “Fool’s Rush In” made popular by everyone from Ricky Nelson to Glenn Miller to Elvis. And now you can watch the She & Him cover here .

Leave a Reply

