eat. fig.

Tuscaloosa, AL is a popular destination for people this time of year. In fact, I am 95% sure that 50% of the city of Birmingham migrates there on certain game days (the other half migrates to “the Plains” and I am one of the <1% left in town).  Last weekend, was not one of those game days.  In a refreshing twist, the inhabitants retreated to the big city for the flurry of activity it offered. And I, I made the relatively quick day trek to T-town to visit with friends.

It was a day full of boutique shopping and catching up. The streets were quiet. The sun was bright. And, lest anyone ever think that girly get-togethers do not include food, let me share a highlight.

FIG.

To be honest, I couldn’t drive you to FIG without my GPS if I tried. I was in total passenger mode in unfamiliar territory.  But somewhere along McFarland Boulevard is this little acronymically named establishment where truly “food is good”.

We helped ourselves to the buffet brunch as if we had the metabolisms of Rory and Lorelai Gilmore, and because I’m on a sweet potato fries kick, we ordered some as an appetizer as well.  I have to say I have no complaints about any of the items I tried: French toast (stuffed with something creamy), fresh fruit (not just melon thankfully), biscuits, bacon, chicken salad, crackers… the list goes on. The Asian dipping sauce for the sweet potato fries was unexpected but an amazing savory twist on what I usually turn into dessert.

Here are the best visuals I could get with my cell camera, but they do not do the experience justice.

Is your mouth watering yet? If you are nearby, please go. Go for my sake and the hour drive I would have to make to get there.

Leave a Reply

