create. love post. seven.

With the prelude of posts on love, I certainly hope you will not be disappointed in this post, assorted and disjointed (and late) as it is.

My Crafty Valentines
I experimented a bit with some ideas for homemade valentines this year. Each item was made to hold a handwritten note.

Supplies:

Scrap fabric
Scissors and Pinking Shears
Polyester Fiberfill
Notecards
Pen

Results:

Different Kinds of Love
To celebrate some different kinds of love today, check some of these off your list.

Listen. “Heavenly Day” by Patty Griffin – Written for Patty’s beloved dog, suggested by one who loves her own Cavalier King Charles Spaniel very much.
Read. Same Kind of Different As Me by Ron Hall & Denver Moore – I can’t believe I haven’t personally read this yet, but I’m told it is one of the greatest stories of friendship recently told.
Watch. Saving Private Ryan. – A  story of sacrificial love. “Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.” (John 15:13)
Eat. Flourless chocolate cake. This Real Simple recipe has been staring at me for days, but since I don’t have a spring form pan, I think I’ll go with something a little less involved. A grilled Nutella sandwich… could that work?
Read. I Love You, Good Night by Jon Buller – A favorite of a friend who loves her family and blueberry pancakes.
Listen. “Awake My Soul” by Mumford & Sons – “…where you invest your love, you invest your life.”

Money Can’t Buy Me Love
My money can’t buy much of anything these days. I’m working to stretch a dollar as usual. So, last night when I came home to my apartment, I was as appreciative as ever to find a Valentine’s Day gift from my parents – the supporting schools coupon book. It has become a bit of a tradition and truly pays for itself in a few uses. Savings, a card that mentioned pirouettes, and potted tulips add up to a very nice welcome home.

Those 3 Little Words
More powerful than “I love you,” is this statement: “God is love.” (1 John 4:8)
Love was not created; it was given. (John 3:16-17)
Love is many things as God is all these things. (1 Cor 13:1-8)
And when faith and hope are no longer needed, love will remain.  (1 Cor 13:13)

One response to “create. love post. seven.

Leave a Reply

