listen. under the radar.

About 6 months ago, I found Under the Radar, a weekly hour-long music program featuring “gourmet” music. In this context gourmet means the lesser-known, the under-appreciated, and the high-quality music being made by Christian artists. I must have good taste because week after week I find the selections include many of my favorite artists that I have mentioned to you before.

As best I can tell Under the Radar (UTR) began about 2 and half years ago (November 2008), and in the time since, it has become a rich online resource. Not only can you listen to episode after episode of the program, but you can watch interviews and live performances by featured artists and read blog posts covering a wide range of music-related topics.

The only negative about UTR is that the entire concept leaves me wondering, “Why did it take so long for me to find?” and, “Why didn’t I think of this?” I fight my jealousy of host Dave Trout’s job (and ticket to Hutchmoot 2011) with my appreciation that such a program exists and gratitude for his faithfulness to share God-glorifying, creative, and insightful music. For those of you who know of Scott Register, host of Reg’s Coffeehouse and champion of getting quality music to the public in a secular setting, I believe Dave Trout is doing the same for sacred music.

I am sorry that is has taken me so long to share this online oasis with you, but there is no time like the present since the special Easter program will be posted/airing this week. However, you don’t have to wait for this year’s special. You can listen now to Easter specials from 2009 (Episode #22) and 2010 (Episode #73).

Discover more of what is Under the Radar here.

Leave a Reply

