watch. for beauty in the mess.

In the midst of tragedy we look for beauty. Beauty echoes wholeness and hope. So, while I mourned the great losses, these moments of beauty offered measures of relief.

The final blooms from the tulip poplar that fell found their way indoors to be enjoyed.

My mother, my friends, and I joined with millions to watch a young woman named Kate marry a young man named William.  We wore our “fascinators”, ate McVitie’s biscuits, and sipped Twinings tea from Whittard mugs. To me, the most beautiful part of the ceremony was the message of truth spoken by the Right Reverend Richard Chartres.

The transporting sounds of the Avett Brothers carried me away.  Not only are these musicians talented and intelligent, but they were incredibly gracious on and off stage.

There is something so comforting to me about the unison movement of a ballet class – made only more beautiful by the spirits and hearts of the dancers I am privileged to know.

In what have you found relief from the mess around us?

One response to “watch. for beauty in the mess.

Leave a Reply

