eat. some kind of butterbeer.

Though not as bittersweet as cracking the spine of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows for the first time, anticipating this final movie has a poignancy about it. I want to see it, but I do not want it to end.

What would make us feel better at a moment like this, aside from a bit of chocolate to restore the joy of life the dementors drained? May I suggest Frosted Butterbeer Cake/Cupcakes.

I haven’t made it to the World of Harry Potter at Universal Orlando yet, but in my imagination, I know what butterbeer tastes like. I began experimenting with a semi-homemade cupcake last August for my mother’s birthday. After all, she is the one who introduced me to J.K. Rowling and her wizarding world. Whether you are a fan of HP, butterscotch, or sweet treats, this is something to try.

  1. Start with a yellow cake mix or recipe.
  2. Substitute the liquids called for with cream soda.
  3. Place a few whole butterscotch chips in each cake mold. (These will sink to the bottom and create a butterscotch layer on the bottom of each cupcake. Just don’t let them burn.)
    -OR-
    Chop butterscotch chips finely and fold in to the batter before baking.
  4. Top with buttercream icing and butterscotch chips or syrup.

Shortly after I made my first batch, I found this recipe by another Amy which is I’m sure is incredibly tasty. It takes none of the short cuts I took. Try it out as well, and let me know what you think. Keep experimenting until you find your favorite combination.

Not in the mood for too trendy cupcakes? Try a frosted butterbeer float by combining vanilla ice cream and butterscotch syrup. Top with cream soda and enjoy.

2 responses to “eat. some kind of butterbeer.

Leave a Reply

