eat. urban cookhouse.

The Scouts are once again selling trees a stone’s throw from my front door, and, thanks to my allergies and a Black Friday special, my full size artificial tree is up and decorated. Also, snow is falling on WordPress. These are just a couple of the many signs screaming out how much time has passed since I last shared with you. But instead of bringing attention to the great lapse, I’m just going to ignore my tardiness and pick right back up.

A favorite restaurant of mine has opened a second location, and I should probably seize this opportunity to tell you the many reasons I love Urban Cookhouse.

I’ll start with the obvious. The food is excellent. Rarely do I look at a menu and think, “I’ll have one of everything.” But on reading the UC menu for the first time, I knew I would return to explore it all. I have liked everything I have tried. This is no small feat considering I am a lifelong hater of slaw, and I even trusted them to leave their turkey crunch sandwich recipe intact – slaw and all – and I enjoyed it! (P.S. It is not the slaw you are imagining.)

The portions seem right-sized. I leave full but not overly so. And, I do love to finish my meal off with their perfectly light and sweet orange roll. Unless, of course, I splurge on the mouthwatering dessert that is the Half Baked Cookie.

The service is lightning fast. I dare you to find a shorter wait between order and service with the same caliber menu. I frequently wait longer in a drive thru lane. This makes lunch hours somehow longer and errand-running perfectly possible. Who couldn’t use a little extra time?! In case you don’t want to take my word for it, readers of Birmingham Magazine voted the staff the best in the city (and best kids’ menu). No big deal.

To Do Tips/Notes for your first visit:

  • At both locations take a left at the door. This will put you in line to order your food.
  • You may need to pick up your own utensils depending on the establishment.
  • On most occasions, you will bus your own table.
  • The ingredients are local. The philosophy is green.
  • The Strawberry-Lemonade is a perfect summertime (or maybe anytime) treat.

Tonight is the grand opening event of new Summit location, benefitting Cornerstone Schools of Alabama. It’s the perfect time to sample the menu and determine what you will order on your return visit.

One response to “eat. urban cookhouse.

Leave a Reply

