save. your heart.

Happy New Year and Valentine’s Day! I hope you paid your respects to the memory of Martin Luther King, Jr. and our U.S. Presidents. I hope that you did not get scared of your shadow only to run back to your hole in the ground a few weeks ago. And finally, happy Leap Day!

I thought Leap Day was an appropriate time for me to post here since it only comes around every 4 years – like the presidential elections, the Olympics, and apparently, my blog posts.

In addtion to the the many holiday wishes and great activities I have failed to share, I have almost missed telling you about Heart Month. So, here is my eleventh-hour-of-the-extra-day effort: a Heart Health To Do List.

  1. Study up. The American Heart Association website is full of resources for you and anyone you know. Explore the site to learn not just about heart attacks but heart disease and many other conditions that affect your heart.
  2. Take a Quiz. This one is so much more important than “What Downton Abbey character are you?” (more on that later). Take the online assessment to learn your risk for a heart attack. It’s a really short quiz, but it does ask for your weight, height, blood pressure, and cholesterol – a good reminder for me that I need to have my cholesterol checked as it has been a while.
  3. Get certified. Consider getting certified in CPR, but at the very least watch this short video demonstration of hands-only CPR. Then, watch the real one. Also, identify where the Automated External Defibbrilators (AEDs) are in your work place and other public venues you may visit regularly.
  4. Watch this. Yes, it’s okay to laugh… as long as you take the message seriously – as a heart attack. (Sorry, I couldn’t help it.)

And if you find you need to make a change, try this simple one.

Go Red any month! (I’m the one that looks like she’s not wearing red. I promise I had on a red scarf.)

One response to “save. your heart.

Leave a Reply

